August 04, 2021

Creston’s Hagle named all-district

Mount Ayr, East Union, Murray and Lenox players also honored by IGCA

All-district softball players were announced this week by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association, and Creston junior shortstop Gracie Hagle is among those honored for the 2021 season.

Hagle was selected on the Class 4A West District team. Other area players earning all-district status are Emma Decker of Murray, TJ Stoaks of Lenox, Noelle McKnight of East Union and the Mount Ayr duo of Adalyn Reynolds and Alexa Anderson.

Winterset coach Steve Corkrean was selected Class 4A West District Coach of the Year.

The all-district teams that include players from area conferences:

Class 1A South Central — Grace Bailey, Twin Cedars, Jr.; Kynser Reed, Melcher Dallas, Sr.; Rylee Dunkin Twin Cedars, So.; Riley Enfield, Melcher Dallas, Sr.; BrieAnna Remster, Melcher Dallas, So.; Emma Decker, Murray, Sr.; Ali Mockenhaupt, Twin Cedars, Jr.; Haley Godfrey, Melcher Dallas, Sr.; Mikayla Fritz, Moravia, Sr.; Gracie Peck, Seymour, Fr. District coach of the year: Zack Dunkin, Twin Cedars.

Class 1A Southeast — Sterling Berndt, Wayne, Jr.; TJ Stoaks, Lenox, Sr.; Emily Jones, Wayne, Jr.; Jayda Gay, Martensdale-St. Marys, Sr.; Josie Hartman, Southeast Warren, Jr.; Mya Wiley, Wayne, Sr.; Makayla Ruble, Southeast Warren, Sr.; Noelle McKnight, East Union, So.; Madeline Myer, Martensdale-St. Marys, Sr.; Aliva Rubel, Southeast Warren, So.; Taylor Hensen, Lamoni, 8th grade. District coach of the year: Heather Fortune, Wayne Community.

Class 2A Southwest — Addy Reynolds, Mount Ayr; Kenzie Schon, Kuemper Catholic. Ella Sand, West Central Valley; Alexa Anderson, Mount Ayr, Sr.; District coach of the year: Lea Crouse, Underwood.

Class 3A Southeast — Emma Bolton, Clarke, Sr. District coach of the year: Zach Dunlavy, Davis County.

Class 3A West — Alyssa Derby, Atlantic, Sr.; Olivia Engler, Atlantic, Sr.. District coach of the year: Jess Stofferahn, Sheldon.

Class 4A West — Jena Young, Winterset, So.; Bridget Stover, Winterset, Jr.; Ava Lowden, Winterset, Sr.; Gracie Hagle, Creston, Jr.; Emily Brouse, Harlan, Sr.; Haley Bach, Lewis Central, Sr. District coach of the year: Steve Corkrean, Winterset.


Former senior feature writer at Creston News Advertiser and columnist. Previous positions include sports editor for many years and assistant editor. Also a middle school basketball coach in Creston.