July 18, 2024

Chamber recognizes award winners

John Walters, center, receives the Creston Chamber of Commerce 2023 Citizen of the Year Award Tuesday from chamber board president Darin Goins, left, and chamber member Craig Mittag.

The youth, volunteer and citizen of the year winners sponsored by the Creston Chamber of Commerce during its annual meeting held Tuesday at the Eagles Club.

John Walters was named citizen of the year. His work is diverse. He has a strong interest in Creston High wrestling and its history, so much that he was one of the founders of the wrestling program’s hall of fame that started in 2017. The wrestling hall of fame event is held every fall. Walters even wrote a book about the history of high school wrestling in Southwest Iowa.

His monetary gift by being named citizen of the year will be donated to the wrestling hall of fame.

Quentin Fuller, left, receives the 2023 Creston Chamber of Commerce Youth Award.

Creston High School senior Quinten Fuller was the youth of the year because of his involvement being a. four-sport athlete, leadership position in FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America) and in the process of earning his Eagle Scout in the Boy Scouts of America.

Creston Chamber of Commerce board members for 2024 are: president, Bruce Pearson; first vice president, Danna Buls; second vice president, Josh Thompson; treasurer, Adam Snodgrass; past president, Darin Goins.

Board members nominated for three-year terms: Jenna Green, Nate Maiers, Brooke Pafford, Christal Waddington, Kyle Wilson.

Retiring board members: Karen Berry, Tori Hanson, Susan McNichols, Tim Stebbins, Natasha Vanheeswyk.

Susan Weight receives the 2023 Creston Chamber of Commerce Volunteer Leadership Award.
John Van Nostrand


An Iowa native, John's newspaper career has mostly been in small-town weeklies from the Rocky Mountains to the Mississippi River. He first stint in Creston was from 2002 to 2005.