December 09, 2023

School elections include overlapping districts, counties

Lenox, Murray and Orient-Macksburg school districts overlap into Union County as the three districts had school board member elections Tuesday.

Adair County voters chose Andrew Zellweger (65 votes), Jana Scott (62) and Casey Osborne (48) to retain seats in an unopposed election for Orient-Macksburg’s school board. There were no votes recorded in Union County.

For the Lenox school district in Taylor County, two seats were on the ballot. Jake Tripp had 153 votes and 2 in Union County. Seth Evans had 151 and 2 in Union County. Eric Caldwell had 72 votes and none in Union County.

Murray school district in Clarke County had three seats Tuesday. Joseph Miller, 272 votes; Nicholas Smith, 238 votes; Tara Page, 226 votes; Brian Peterson, 136 votes; Sarah Dinham, 80 votes and Matthew Dinham, 56 votes. In Union County, Peterson, Sarah and Matthew each had one vote.

Murray had a ballot question that had 279 votes in favor to 32. “To adopt a Revenue Purpose Statement specifying the use of revenues the Murray Community School District will receive from the State of Iowa Secure an Advanced Vision for Education Fund.”

In Union County, it received one vote in favor.

John Van Nostrand


An Iowa native, John's newspaper career has mostly been in small-town weeklies from the Rocky Mountains to the Mississippi River. He first stint in Creston was from 2002 to 2005.