July 18, 2024

Five running for five SWCC board seats

There are no contested races for the five Southwestern Community College Board seats on the Nov. 7 ballot.

Candidate names were confirmed Thursday.

All running are incumbents, Tony Cass, Carol Saxton and Fred Shearer. Their terms are expiring. Cass is from District 8, Creston. Saxton is from District 4, Leon.

Amy Mobley was appointed to finish Vicki Sickels’ term, which also expire with this election. Mobley is from District 7, Maloy. Sue Stearns was appointed to Jerry Smith’s position which also expires this year. Stearns is from District 3, Osceola.

John Van Nostrand


An Iowa native, John's newspaper career has mostly been in small-town weeklies from the Rocky Mountains to the Mississippi River. He first stint in Creston was from 2002 to 2005.