December 09, 2023

Contested races in Nov. 7 election

A couple of entities will have contested races in the city council and school board election on Tuesday, Nov. 7.

Candidate deadline was Thursday, Sept. 21.

Creston will have a race for mayor and two of the council member seats. Incumbent Mayor Gabriel Carroll will run again and go up against Waylon Clayton. Creston council seat ward 4 will have incumbent Brendalee Lyell Keate, Sarah Scull and Martin Graham.

Candidates for the council at-large seat are incumbent Kiki Scarberry and contestant Jordan Nelson.

Josh Thompson is the only candidate for Ward 2 council. He is the incumbent. Katie Turner is the only candidate for Creston’s park and recreation board.

For Creston’s school board, the only two candidates for the two seats are the incumbents; Brad James and Don Gee.

Southwestern Community College board candidates are still waiting confirmation from Montgomery County.

Other Union County towns and schools:

Cromwell: City council candidates are mayor, Curt Angell; council members, Robert Hepp, Amy Angell, Jacob McGehee, Robert Marquart and Judy Hopkins. Amy, Hepp and McGehee are incumbents.

Afton: Michelle Burger is running for mayor. Council member candidates are Sheryl Parham, Steven Dwayne Kinyon and David A. Cunningham. Burger, Cunningham and Kinyon are incumbents.

Arispe: Roger Cheers is candidate for mayor. Council member candidates are Rodney Meinke and Sandy Fry. Council member candidates to fill a vacancy are Kathern Groves and Tom Hansen. Cheers, Fry and Hansen are incumbents.

Lorimor: Council member candidates are Jack Kirkpatrick, Suzzie Weibel, Joshua McElroy and Dustin Ross are candidates Weibel and Kirkpatrick are incumbents.

Thayer: Cory Mitchell is running for mayor. Council member candidates are Bridget Hoskey, Les Vanderpluym, Deana Welcher, Karen Mitchell and Lacy Catalano. All are incumbents.

Shannon City: There are no candidates for the two council member seats.

East Union school: District 4 candidates are Kristina Dike, Sam McKnight and Zachary Clear. Carol Eckles is the lone district 2 candidate. There are no candidates for district 3. Jamie Buffington is the candidate for district 5 to fill vacancy. Adam Tallmon is the only candidate for district 1 to fill a vacancy. Incumbents are Eckels, McKnight, Tallmon and Buffington.

John Van Nostrand


An Iowa native, John's newspaper career has mostly been in small-town weeklies from the Rocky Mountains to the Mississippi River. He first stint in Creston was from 2002 to 2005.