June 25, 2022

Absentee voting begins Wednesday

The Primary Election will be held from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday, June 7 in Union County.

All voters are required to provide an approved form of ID at the polling site before receiving a ballot. Voters who are not pre-registered will be required to show proof of residence. A voter who cannot provide proof of identification may have their identity attested by another registered voter in the precinct who has approved identification.

A person who is eligible to register to vote may register on election day at the polling place for the precinct which they live. The voter must complete a voter registration application and provide identity and proof of residence. For more information, call the Union County Auditor’s office at 641-782-1701.

Contact the office for absentee ballots. Wednesday is the first day to vote absentee and for requests to receive an absentee ballot. They must be returned by 8 p.m. on election day.

May 23 is the last day to request an absentee ballot to be mailed and to pre-register to vote. The auditor’s office will be open until 5 p.m. June 3.

The auditor’s office will be open from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, June 4 for absentee voting.

Polling sites are as follows:

City of Afton, Union Township: Afton United Methodist Church.

Arispe, Shannon City, Townships of Sand Creek, Grant: Arispe United Methodist Church.

Creston Ward 1: Salem Lutheran Church.

Creston Ward 2, Townships of Spaulding, Douglas, Platte: Southwestern Community College Performing Arts Center.

Cromwell: Southwestern Community College Performing Arts Center.

Creston Ward 3: Trinity Lutheran Church.

Creston Ward 4, Township of Highland: Supertel Inn.

Creston Ward 5, Crest Baptist Church.

Lincoln Township: Crest Baptist Church.

Townships of Lorimor, Dodge, New Hope: Lorimor City Hall.

Townships of Thayer, Jones, Pleasant: Lorimor City Hall.

Democrat candidates:

United States Senator: Abby Finkenaur, MIchael Franken, Glenn Hurst.

Rep. Dist. 3: Cindy Axne.

Governor: Deidre DeJear.

Secretary of State: Joel Miller, Erick Van Lancker.

State Auditor: Rob Sand.

State Treasurer: Michael Fitzgerald.

Secretary of Agriculture: John Norwood.

Attorney General: Tom Miller.

State Sen. District 9: no formal candidates.

State Rep. 17: no formal candidates.

Republican candidates:

United States Senate: Charles Grassley, Jim Carlin.

Rep. Dist. 3: Nicole Hasso, Gary Leffler, Zach Nunn.

Governor: Kim Reynolds.

Secretary of State: Paul Pate.

State Auditor: Todd Halbur, Mary Ann Hanusa.

State Treasurer: Roby Smith.

Secretary of Agriculture: Mike Naig.

Attorney General: Brenna Bird.

State Rep. 23: Ray Sorensen.

Union County Supervisor: no formal candidates

County Treasurer: Kelly Busch.

County Recorder: Katie Carlton

County Attorney: Shane Patrick O’Toole.

John Van Nostrand


An Iowa native, John's newspaper career has mostly been in small-town weeklies from the Rocky Mountains to the Mississippi River. He first stint in Creston was from 2002 to 2005.