June 28, 2022

Creston’s Downing named to preseason Big 12 team

Iowa State University

Creston High graduate Trevor Downing is one of eight Iowa State players who made the 2021 Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team, announced Wednesday by the Big 12 Conference.

The team was chosen by media representatives who cover the league. Other players include Mike Rose (LB), Charlie Kolar (TE), Greg Eisworth II (DB), Breece Hall (RB), Xavier Hutchinson (WR), Colin Newell (OL) and Will McDonald IV (DE)

Downing, a junior, played in just one game on the offensive line in 2020, suffering a season-ending injury in the opener vs. Louisiana.

Downing started 12 games in 2019, earning Freshman All-America accolades from The Athletic and honorable mention kudos from the Big 12. With Downing in the lineup in 2019, the Cyclones broke school records in total offense (444.3), touchdowns (53), passing yards (4,047) and yards per play (6.4).

Rose, the reigning Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year, was selected to repeat as the league’s best defensive player in 2021. Kolar was the only unanimous selection.

A senior from Brecksville, Ohio, Rose has started all 38 games in his outstanding career. He was named to multiple All-America teams in 2020 and has earned All-Big 12 recognition in each of his three seasons in Ames, including first team honors a year ago.

This past year, Rose had the most tackles in the Big 12 (96) and was credited with 10.5 TFL, ranking third on the team. The Cyclone star also led all NCAA linebackers nationally with five interceptions, the most by a Cyclone linebacker in school history.

Iowa State, ranked ninth in the final AP Top-25 poll after tying a school record with nine wins in 2020, returns 19 starters from last year’s team.

The Cyclones season-opener is vs. UNI at MidAmerican Energy Field at Jack Trice Stadium on Sept. 4.

John Van Nostrand


An Iowa native, John's newspaper career has mostly been in small-town weeklies from the Rocky Mountains to the Mississippi River. He first stint in Creston was from 2002 to 2005.