May 29, 2024

Local high school seniors receive awards, scholarships

Scholarships and awards received by the Nodaway Valley Class of 2023 include:

Governor’s Scholar Award: Boston DeVault

Bernie Saggau Award: Boston DeVault

E. Wayne Cooley Award: Madison Long

Silver Cord: Boston DeVault, Chris Ford, Madison Long

National Honor Society: Madison Long, President; Hope Kading, Vice President; Macey Dabb, Secretary; Dalanie Brown, Boston DeVault, Doug Berg, Lily Day

Tenacious Wolverine: Doug Berg, Madison Long, Avery Phillippi

Wild Wolverine: Dalanie Brown, Boston DeVault, Hope Kading, Brenna Mahoney and Ben Piearson

American Red Cross Red Cord Scholarship: Madison Long

Red Cords: Madison Long, Brenna Mahoney and Shyan Castillo

Building Operators Pathway Certification: Marshall Raasch

Mabel Ferber Scholarship: Abby Engles, Boston DeVault, Madison Long, Doug Berg and Shyan Castillo

Ray Leto Memorial Scholarship: Madison Long

Robert Meisenheimer Memorial Scholarship: Ben Piearson

Steven Jensen Memorial Scholarship: Madison Long

James Meisenheimer Agricultural Scholarship: Brandon Raasch

W.D. Ray and Shirley Schafer Ray Educational Trust: Madison Long

Warren Cultural Center Scholarship, in honor of Yvonne M. Schildberg: Dalanie Brown

Iowa State Bar Association American Citizenship Award: Dalanie Brown

Jensen-Butler Technical Scholarship: Brandon Raasch

Jensen-Butler College Scholarship: Boston DeVault

Farmers Electric Cooperative Scholarship: Will Sturdy, Boston DeVault, Lily Day, Brandon Raasch, Madison Long

Darlys Crees Scholarship: Madison Long

GMU Scholarship: Hope Kading, Madison Long, Doug Berg

Greenfield Lions Club Scholarship: Abby Engles, Madison Long

Troopers Association Scholarship: Boston DeVault

Nodaway Valley Education Association Scholarship: Dalanie Brown, Abby Engles, Hope Kading, Madison Long

PEO Local Scholarship: Hope Kading

Masonic Scholarship: Madison Long, Will Sturdy, Lily Day, Dalanie Brown

American Legion Scholarship: Abby Engles, Will Sturdy, Brandon Raasch

American Soil and Water Conservation District: Brandon Raasch

Adair County Farm Bureau: Brandon Raasch, Doug Berg, Abby Engles

Greenfield Business Women: Madison Long and Dalanie Brown

Nodaway Valley FFA: Lily Day and Brandon Raasch

Kelly Laughery Scholarship: Brandon Raasch

Adair County 4-H Booster Fund Scholarship: Brandon Raasch

Christina Hixson Opportunity Scholarship: Dalanie Brown

Simpson College Scholarship: Doug Berg

Central College Scholarships: Boston DeVault

Greater Regional Health Auxiliary Scholarship: Madison Long

Orient-Macksburg awards are as follows:

Patrick E. McKinney Award: Tyson Ross

Bernie Saggau Award: Tyson Ross

Male Athletic Recognition: Tyson Ross

Female Athletic Recognition: Christa Cass

Speech Student of the Year: Logann Carson

Quiz Bowl: Christa Cass, Logann Carson, Tyson Ross, Nathaniel Blazek, Brandy Bracy and Emily Campbell

FFA Cords: Brandy Bracy, Troy Browning, Christa Cass, Nicholai McVay and Tyson Ross

Outstanding Ag Student - DeKalb Award: Tyson Ross

Upstander Awards: Jayce Brammer, Mattie Thompson, Randy Bracy, Brayden Sitzman-Waltz, Kolbie Carson

Leadership Awards: Tyson Ross and Mattie Thompson

Iowa State Bar Association American Citizenship Award: Brandy Bracy

Good Citizen Award: Tyson Ross

Booster Club Senior Awards: All seniors

American Red Cross Cords: Brandy Bracy, Logann Carson, Christa Cass, Nicholai McVay, Tyson Ross

Bluegrass Conference Academic Award: Christa Cass and Tyson Ross

American Red Cross Recognition Award and Scholarship: Logann Carson, Christa Cass

Nile Ramsbottom Scholarship: Tyson Ross

Farmers and Merchants State Bank Scholarship: Tyson Ross

Education Foundation Scholarship by TRIO: Jase Davidson

Order of the Eastern Star Memorial Scholarship: Logann Carson

Caleb Nelson

Caleb Nelson

Caleb Nelson has served as News Editor of the Adair County Free Press and Fontanelle Observer since Oct. 2017. He and his wife Kilee live in Greenfield. In Greenfield and the greater Adair County area, he values the opportunity to tell peoples' stories, enjoys playing guitar, following all levels of sports, and being a part of his local church.