November 26, 2022

Candidate names released for special Fontanelle city election

The City of Fontanelle special election will be Tuesday, December 13, 2022. The Adair County Auditor’s Office released six names that will be on the ballot vying for three spots. They include Carol M. Barrett, Dawn Brown, James L. Campbell, Lane A. Ellis, Dianna Goetz and Jeffery Ivan Thompson.

Voter pre-registration deadline is 5 p.m. Monday, Nov. 28. Pre-registered voters are required to provide an approved form of identification at the polling place before receiving and casting a regular ballot.

Voters who are not pre-registered, such as voters registering to vote on election day and voters changing precincts, must also provide proof of residence.

A voter who is unable to provide an approved form of identification (or prove residence if required) 1) may have the voter’s identity/residence attested to by another registered voter in the precinct, 2) prove identity and residence using Election Day Registration documents, or 3) cast a provisional ballot and provide proof of identity/residence at the county auditor’s office by noon Dec. 19. Election Day Registrant attesters must provide an approved form of identification. For additional information about providing proof of identity and/or residence visit The Iowa Secretary of State’s website or phone (641) 743-2546.

Voters may request an absentee ballot from the Auditor’s Office. Voters may vote in the office between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, beginning Nov. 23, 2022, or they may request a ballot be mailed to them. The deadline to request an absentee ballot be mailed is 5 p.m. Monday, November 28, 2022. The last day to vote absentee in the Auditor’s Office is 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday, Dec. 12. Polls will open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Election Day December 13, 2022.