November 26, 2022

Election brings high turnout and tight races

The elections became official Tuesday, Nov. 15 as the board of supervisors took action on them.

The Adair County Auditor’s Office reported a “very efficient” Election Day a week earlier with high voter turnout. Of 5,445 possible, 3,192 ballots were cast in the election, a turnout of nearly 60%.

Winning the only contested board of supervisors race was Nathan Baier (395 votes) over Doug Davidson (191) for the District 4SE seat. Baier said he’s grateful so many people turned out for the election, no matter who they voted for, and “let the real work begin.”

“It’s a mixture of relief and realizing you’ll be taking on a new role,” Baier told the newspaper. “It’s kind of nice having the election out of the way, no matter what the outcome was going to be. Now you know what’s coming. It sounds like January’s a busy month for the supervisors so we’ll be jumping in running, I hope.”

Also extending their time on the supervisors was Jodie Hoadley, who ran unopposed for the District 2NE seat. She received 573 votes to represent what will be a new district for her in the upcoming term.

Current primary goals Hoadley has are to be a part of passing the carbon dioxide pipeline ordinance the supervisors are currently working on so that protections are in place for residents and landowners of the county. She also praised County Engineer Nick Kauffman does on the county’s bridges and roads, to keep them the best they can be while still managing a balanced budget.

“I’m glad the primary went the way that it did for me. Steve (Shelley) has been on the board of supervisors for a long time. I have enjoyed working with him and it was a hard decision to run against him,” Hoadley said. “I enjoy working on the board of supervisors. I feel I do a good job and look out for the people of Adair County, but the primary was definitely the hardest race I’ve had since I first ran for the board of supervisors.”

State and federal

Rep. Ray Sorensen ran unopposed in State Representative District 23 and received 2,751 votes. See a story featuring Sorensen’s upcoming term in an upcoming edition.

Sorensen said that serving a new district will be fun as he will get to meet some new consistuents.

“I will miss the folks in old House District 20, while looking forward to representing my new constituents in House District 23 next session,” Sorensen said. “Thank you all for your confidence and support in being your voice at our Capitol.”

Republican incumbent Governor Kim Reynolds/Lt. Gov. Adam Gregg defeated Democratic challengers Deidre DeJear/Eric Van Lancker 708,799 to 482,367.

In Adair County, results went for Reynolds/Gregg 2,322 to 760.

“It has been an honor of a lifetime to serve as governor of this amazing state. It’s even a greater honor to be given the opportunity to serve you for another four years,” Reynolds said in her acceptance speech. “It’s been an incredible campaign, and as we’ve traveled this state we’ve told Iowa’s story, and I’m excited to say to you tonight that we are not done because the best is yet to come.”

Republican Zach Nunn won the United States Third Congressional District seat from Democrat incumbent Cindy Axne in a tight race, 156,239 to 154,084, a race that wasn’t declared over until a day after the election.

In Adair County, Nunn’s support was greater, 2,165 to 972.

“All of our families are facing an economic situation that is harder and harder everyday because of the policy decisions coming out of Washington, D.C.,” Nunn said in his acceptance speech. “Team, we have the ability to change that. This race, this district, changes the course of America.”

In a statement Wednesday, Axne conceded.

“Representing Iowa’s Third Congressional District has been one of the best opportunities of my life and I hope Zach Nunn understands the responsibility of this office and will continue my hard work to uplift Iowans’ voices in Washington, D.C.,” Axne wrote.

Incumbent Republican Chuck Grassley won re-election to the United States Senate 681,123 to 532,707 over Democrat challenger Michael Franken.

Adair County voters chose Grassley 2,278 to 886.

“Admiral Franken called me a few minutes ago. We had a short phone conversation. I thanked him for his military service and for the fact that he ran the hardest campaign I’ve had since being in the United States Senate,” Grassley said in his victory speech. “Thanks to all of you for believing in me. I believe in you, in the great state of Iowa, and I believe in America as the unique nation it is, as a nation of hope and promise of freedom for generations to come.”

Incumbent State Auditor Rob Sand appeared to be the lone Democrat winning a state or federal-level race in Iowa this round when unofficial results showed he had defeated Republican challenger Todd Halbur 600,090 to 597,476, but Halbur has requested a recount and results were unavailable by press time.

In other state offices, Republican incumbent Paul D. Pate beat Democrat Joel Miller 722,853 to 479,899 for Secretary of State. Republican Roby Smith (614,579) beat incumbent Democrat Michael L. Fitzgerald (583,395) to become State Treasurer. Republican Mike Naig (729,875) defeated Democrat John Norwood (463,090) for Secretary of Agriculture. Guthrie County Attorney Brenna Bird, a Republican from the Dexter area, beat Democrat incumbent Tom Miller 611,081 to 590,258 and will become the state’s new Attorney General.

Other county results

County Treasurer Brenda L Wallace (2,884), County Recorder Janelle Schneider (2,870) and County Attorney Melissa S. Larson (2,160) all won re-election unopposed.

Barbara Kalbach (1,905), Mark Schildberg (2,212) and Pam Wiggins (2,154) were all elected to the hospital board of trustees. Steve Baudler (2,367) and Phil Kading (2,003) each were elected as soil and water conservation district commissioners. Beth Davenport (1,820), Clark R. Dolch (1,922), Sondra A. Baudler (2,124) and Matthew Rohrig (1,964) were all voted in to the county agricultural extension council.

Taking a Richland Township Clerk position was Evelyn Hopf (78). In Washington Township, Richard Antisdel (54) will be a new trustee and Diane McCall (69) will be clerk. In Richland Township, Steven Lilly (74) and Roger Tanner (78) will be trustees.

Public Measure 1, relating to the right to bear arms, passed 2,392 to 571 in Adair County. Statewide, it passed 747,917 to 399,479.

Another notable result is that Dana L. Oxley, a Supreme Court Justice originally from Greenfield, received 1,632 votes to 710 in the county to be retained. She received a 67% passing vote statewide.

Caleb Nelson

Caleb Nelson

Caleb Nelson has served as News Editor of the Adair County Free Press and Fontanelle Observer since Oct. 2017. He and his wife Kilee live in Greenfield. In Greenfield and the greater Adair County area, he values the opportunity to tell peoples' stories, enjoys playing guitar, following all levels of sports, and being a part of his local church.