June 20, 2021

All-conference Pride of Iowa softball teams released

Stoaks and Weinheimer selected unanimously; Mount Ayr and East Union put handful up on second team

1 of 4

A handful of Creston News Advertiser-area players were picked for the 2020 all-conference Pride of Iowa team, released Tuesday night.

On the first team, it was four area players honored. TJ Stoaks from Lenox, Sam Stewart from Mount Ayr, Mallory Raney of East Union and Reagan Weinheimer from Nodaway Valley joined the ranks as the best players in the Pride of Iowa, with Stoaks and Weinheimer getting selected unanimously.

Stoaks was excellent in the circle, tying for second in Class 1A in strikeouts with 188 (Sterling Berndt led the class, and was also selected to all-POI first team). She finished 11-9 and posted a 1.57 ERA in 129 innings pitched. At the plate, Stoaks hit .484 with an on-base percentage of .566.

She had one homer, six doubles and 14 RBIs off of 31 hits.

Stewart’s season came to a close at the state tournament, and despite playing on a team with one of the lowest total games played in the CNA area, the Raiderette hit her way to a conference-leading .558 batting average. She scored 21 times, doubled six times and homered once. She was also a perfect 15-for-15 when it came to stolen bases.

Stewart’s .612 on-base percentage was one of the best in the conference, but didn’t hit the minimum 55 plate appearances needed for her to appear on the list.

Raney did her best work in the circle, pitching 112 2/3 innings to the tune of a 1.12 ERA. She struck out 120 batters, and finished 12-5 in 19 games pitched.

At the plate, she hit .348 with 23 hits and 13 RBIs. She was hit-by-pitch five times.

Weinheimer was a speedster, leading the class in stolen bases with 26. She also set the Nodaway Valley stolen base record in a career with 74. A mainstay in center field for the Wolverines, she hit .344 and drove in seven runs.

She scored 21 runs, a team-high, and didn’t commit an error all season on 34 chances.

Second team

Addy Reynolds, Abigail Barnes, Alexa Anderson and Channler Henle were all selected to the second team as representatives of Mount Ayr.

Reynolds pitched 78 innings, compiling a 1.62 ERA with 56 strikeouts, finishing 10-3. On the other end, she hit .238 with a home run and 11 RBIs.

Barnes was a unanimous second team selection. The Graceland commit hit .219 with four RBIs and three extra-base hits. On defense, she gunned down three of nine base stealers in 13 games played.

One of the best hitters this summer for the Raiderettes, Anderson hit .487 with an on-base percentage of .560. She had a homer, a team-high 15 RBIs, and eight total extra-base hits. She didn’t commit an error on 37 chances.

Henle hit .222 with two homers and four RBIs for the Raiderettes. Of her eight hits this season, five were for extra-bases.

East Union had Kaylin Lack, Kaitlyn Mitchell and Alissa Weinkoetz get selected to the second team.

The trio was efficient, with Lack’s .452 average leading the team. She had 10 extra-base hits and 17 RBIs in 73 at-bats. Mitchell hit .420 with 11 RBIs, knocking a team-high 24 singles. Lack and Mitchell were nearly perfect together in stolen bases, combining for 29 bags (Lack 16-for-16 and Mitchell 13-for-14).

Weinkoetz’s season finished at .317 with a team-high 19 RBIs. She scored 12 times.

Maddax DeVault and Alyssa Davis represented Nodaway Valley on the second team as well.

DeVault hit .419 with one homer and 18 RBIs. She was also a perfect 24-for-24 in stolen bases. Davis was also effective, hitting .328 with a tied-for-conference-lead five homers. Davis also had 22 RBIs and 11 walks.

Honorable mention

Noelle McKnight was selected as an honorable mention to represent East Union.

McKnight hit .388 with 26 hits and 16 RBIs. She was 19-for-19 in stolen bases and had five extra-base hits.

McKinna Hogan represents Lenox as an honorable mention.

Hogan played in all 20 games, hitting .227 with 14 singles. She drove in four runs and scored nine times. She swiped six bases also.

Halsie Barnes of Mount Ayr represents the Raiderettes on the honorable mention list.

Barnes hit .415 with nine RBI and 17 hits. She scored six times and struck out once all season.

Nodaway Valley’s Madison Fry was selected as an honorable mention.

Fry’s season ended at .273 with two triples and nine RBIs. She scored 11 times and had 15 hits.

Southwest Valley’s Kayley Myers was picked as an honorable mention to represent the Timberwolves.

Myers’ season ended with five homers, tied for the conference lead, and a .510 batting average. She also had five doubles and 18 RBIs. Myers also pitched 17 1/3 innings, striking out 12 batters and limited opponents to a .131 average.

Editor’s Note: Stats accurate up to Tuesday.


1. Martensdale-St Marys 15-6 (9-1); 2. Wayne 17-5 (7-1); 3. Southeast Warren 15-7 (6-3); 4. Mount Ayr 10-5 (3-3); 5. Central Decatur 15-8 (5-5); 6. Lenox 11-9 (4-4); 7. East Union 14-8 (3-4); 8. Nodaway Valley 8-14 (3-7); 9. Bedford 8-10 (2-6); 10. Southwest Valley 4-13 (0-8).

First team

Sterling Berndt, Wayne, So.*; TJ Stoaks, Lenox, Jr.*; Mallory Raney, East Union, So.; Camryn Jacobsen, Wayne, Jr.; Madeline Myer, Martensdale-St Marys, Jr.; Sam Stewart, Mount Ayr, Sr.; Emily Jones, Wayne, So.; Maddy Wood, Wayne, So.; Jayda Gay, Martensdale-St Marys, Jr.; Mya Willey, Wayne, Jr.; Reagan Weinheimer, Nodaway Valley, Sr.*; Emily Cornell, Central Decatur, Jr.; Kylee Rockhold, Central Decatur, So.; Alivia Ruble, Southeast Warren, Fr.

Second team

Addy Reynolds, Mount Ayr, So.; Roley Bell, Central Decatur, Sr.; Abigail Barnes, Mount Ayr, Sr.*; Kaitlyn Mitchell, East Union, So.; Alexa Anderson, Mount Ayr, Jr.; Brooklyn Page, Southeast Warren, Jr.; Maddax DeVault, Nodaway Valley, So.; Kaylin Lack, East Union, So.; Alissa Weinkoetz, East Union, Sr.; Channler Henle, Mount Ayr, Jr.; Jackie Kleve, Martensdale-St Marys, So.; Alyssa Davis, Nodaway Valley, Sr.; Campbell German, Martensdale-St. Marys, 8th; Vivian Tracy, Bedford, Jr.

Honorable mention

Leslie Shelley, Bedford, Sr.; Eily Hall, Central Decatur, Jr.; Noelle McKnight, East Union, Fr.; McKinna Hogan, Lenox, Jr.; Halsie Barnes, Mount Ayr, So.; Brynnly German, Martensdale-St Marys, 8th; Madison Fry, Nodaway Valley, Fr.; AJ Dorsey, Southeast Warren, Sr.; Kayley Myers, Southwest Valley, Sr.; Allie Wik, Wayne, Sr.

* = unanimous decision