Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive the latest news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion, community and more!

Points race heats up as season winds down

81 cars in attendance for O’Reilly Auto Parts night

The racing season continues to wind down at Adams County Speedway as only three points night remain after Saturday night’s action packed night.

Eighty-one cars were in attendance Saturday night for O’Reilly Auto Parts night.

The O’Reilly Auto Parts B-Modifieds held their annual McCunn Specialty Firearms Three-Wide Shootout, kids’ racecar rides were given during intermission and feature action was begun with a four-wide semi convoy presented by Custom Diesel Driver’s Training.

Seventeen big rigs circled ACS prior to feature action and drivers in all five classes were competing for a little extra cash as part of the Amy Sharp Memorial.

The winner of the Northland Oil Stock Cars was guaranteed an $850 payday, while the other classes featured mystery bonuses.

Kyle Tanner and Jerod Weston claimed the heat race wins in the O’Reilly Auto Parts B-Modifieds, but the feature was all about Josh Sink.

Sink, the defending track champion, bounced back from disappointing week before and dominated the field, leading wire-to-wire for his second victory of the season.

Cody Werner took home a season-best second place, Shawn Kralik held off Jerod Weston for third and Bryce Allen rounded out the top five. The top five finishers from Saturday night as well as Tanner all participated in the McCunn Specialty Firearms Three Wide-Shootout.

Weston took advantage of drawing the pole position and quickly pulled away from the field to capture the victory.

Jerid Lund and Tom Myers captured the heat race victories in the Chat Mobility Hobby Stocks.

Chris Bates started on the pole and led the early portion of the race while Lund, Myers and points leader Luke Ramsey all suffered early race woes. Lund was a victim of two spins and was eventually forced to pit due to a flat tire. Myers was sent to the back following an incident and Ramsey was also caught up in an early race incident.

Myers and Ramsey rebounded from their struggles and worked their way through the field.

The race ended in exciting fashion with Ramsey just edging Bates at the line for his seventh win of the season. David Weeda settled for third, Myers made his way to fourth and Dustin Thompson rounded out the top five.

Dustin Grout and Bobby Key came into Saturday night sitting in first and second respectively in the NASCAR Division V national standings. Both drivers also won their respective heat races.

Key started on the pole position for the Brandon Towing & Recovery Compact feature and paced the field throughout the caution-free feature for his first win of the season.

Zander Steiner finished in a career-best second as Grout took third. Points leader Tyler Hoover overcame ignition troubles during the heat race to take fourth and Tyler Housley rounded out the top five.

Jason Rold and David Nail won the heat races in the Amy Sharp Memorial. Rold then turned his heat race win into a dominant feature performance.

Rold started on the second row and wasted little time jumping to the front. While championship contenders Buck Schafroth, Luke Ramsey and Brad Derry battled for second alongside Tony Hardisty.

Schafroth, who came into Saturday night with a four point lead over Ramsey, took second and looked as if he would be adding to his points lead. However, Schafroth spun coming out of turn four as Rold took the checkered flag for the $850 payday and his second win of the season.

Schafroth’s miscue relegated him to an eighth-place finish and gave the points lead to Ramsey, who finished third behind Hardisty. Derry finished fourth and Johnathan Kinser claimed fifth.

Action concluded Saturday night with the Poet Bio-Refining Modifieds.

Alison Davidson and Justin Zeitner won the heat races. Jerod Weston dominated the early portion of the feature, but had his lead erased by a caution.

Zeitner then took the lead from Weston on the restart with a daring move. Zeitner had to hold off a hard-charging Jesse Dennis, but did so for his third win of the season. Weston took third, Brad Bergren finished fourth and Jeff Wiggins completed the top five.

Action will continue next week at ACS with Poet BioRefining Night.

Six Poet Bio-Refining Modified drivers; Jesse Dennis, Brad Bergren, Justin Zeitner, Josh Most, Jeff Wiggins and Jerod Weston will compete in the McCunn Specialty Firearms Three Wide Shootout.

Hot laps will begin at 6:30 with racing to follow.

Loading more