Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive the latest news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion, community and more!

Reynolds announces appointments for Children’s Behavioral Health System board

DES MOINES – Governor Kim Reynolds announced her appointments to Iowa’s Children’s Behavioral Health System Board Thursday. The board will facilitate the coordination of Iowa’s recently created Children’s Mental Health system, ensuring children will have access to the mental health services they need. 

“I was proud to create a Children’s Behavioral Health System, where the path to healing is clearly marked and parents know where to begin so their child can get help. The Children’s Mental Health Board will take a leading role in improving the system for generations to come,” said Reynolds. “I look forward to working with this remarkable group of professionals who will make life-changing decisions for Iowans who need it most.” 

The following appointments to the Children’s Beahavioral Health Systems Board are subject to Senate confirmation in the 2020 legislative session: 

Scott Hobart, Davenport
Shanell Wagler, Panora
Okpara Rice, Marion
Andrew Allen, Huxley
Dan Cox, Sioux City
Melanie Cleveringa, Sioux Center
Peggy Huppert, Johnston
Mary Neubauer, Clive
Jason Sandholdt, Knoxville
Nathan Noble, Clive
Carol Meade, Newhall
Darci Alt, Redfield

Earlier this year, Reynolds signed HF690, a bill that creates and funds the first of its kind comprehensive Children’s Mental Health System. The bill follows recommendations from the first Children’s Mental Health Board, Gov Reynolds created by Executive Order in 2018. 

Loading more