Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive the latest news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion, community and more!

SWV seniors award scholarships

CORNING – More than $100,000 local scholarships were given to Southwest Valley High School seniors.

Adams Community Chamber of Commerce – Hailey Thomas.

Adams County 4-H Endowment Fund – Bryson Rhamy, Morgan Shuey, Connor Shipley and Hailey Thomas.

Adams County Cattlemen’s Association Scholarship – Connor Shipley and Morgan Shuey.

Adams County Interchurch Council Scholarship – Morgan Shuey, Kathryn Hoerman and Alexandria Haer.

Adams County Pheasants Forever – Sara Avila.

Adams County Speedway Scholarship – Sara Avila and Evan Davis.

Adams County Veterans of Foreign War Scholarship – Kathryn Hoerman.

Akin Memorial Scholarship – Amy Lamgo.

Allen & Beverly Heaton Memorial Scholarship – Morgan Shuey.

Altrusa International Inc. of Red Oak – Alexandria Haer.

American Legion Auxiliary – Kaitlyn Richey and Danica Drake.

American Legion Post No. 117 – Amy Lamgo and Hunter Poston.

American Legion Post No. 251 – Hunter Poston.

American Legion Post No. 251 Brick Committee – Maslyn Hummel.

American Red Cross - West Campus – Maddilyn Ballard, Hailey Thomas and Alexandria Haer.

Anderson Family Scholarship – Hunter Poston.

Atticus Scholarship – Sara Avila and Hailey Thomas.

Bank Iowa Spirit of Chandy Scholarship – Alexandria Haer.

CHI Health Mercy Corning Nursing Scholarship – in memory Barbara Avila, RN – Alexandria Haer.

Clark “Larry” Carmichael Scholarship – Connor Shipley, Morgan Shuey and Hailey Thomas.

Clark and Helen Carmichael – Amy Lamgo and Kathryn Hoerman.

Corning Christian Church Scholarship – Alexandria Haer, Katie Hoerman, Danica Drake and Maddilyn Ballard.

Corning Community Education Association – Kaylee Jacobs and Hailey Thomas.

Corning Education Foundation – Kathryn Hoerman, Amy Lamgo, Alaina Currin, Kaylee Jacobs, Danica Drake and Kaitlyn Richey.

Corning Education Foundation – SWV FFA Scholarship – Connor Shipley and Alexandria Haer.

Corning Hy-Vee Scholarship – Karlee Fisher.

Corning Municipal Utility/CIPCO Scholarship – Kaitlyn Richey.

Corning Rotary Richard Shellenberg Family Scholarship – Kaylee Jacobs.

Corning Rotary Scholarship – Maddilyn Ballard, Kathryn Hoerman, Kaitlyn Richey, Amy Lamgo, Connor Shipley, Morgan Shuey and Hailey Thomas.

Corning Specialty Care Scholarship – Amy Lamgo, Morgan Shuey and Alexandria Haer.

Corning Woman’s Club – Danica Drake.

Cultivating Lives Scholarship – a James Family Fund – Sara Avila, Hunter Poston and Connor Shipley.

Don & Sherryl Williams Memorial Scholarship – Amy Lamgo.

Donna Williams Memorial Scholarship – Kaylee Jacobs.

Dr. Dale & Mary Ireland and James M Ireland Scholarship – Morgan Shuey, Danica Drake, Kathryn Hoerman, Hailey Thomas, Sara Avila, Amy Lamgo, Alaina Currin and Alexandria Haer.

Dr. M.R. and Marney Beemer Scholarship – Sara Avila.

Elizabeth McClelland Memorial Scholarship – Carlie Breaud.

Evelyn Lund Memorial Scholarship – Maddilyn Ballard.

Farmers Mutual Telephone Company – Alexandria Haer and Hunter Poston.

Fred & Lois Bryson Memorial Scholarship – Hunter Poston.

Garry M Roberts Memorial Scholarship – Connor Shipley and Hunter Poston.

Good Samaritan Society Health and Spiritual Ministries scholarship – Alexandria Haer.

Greater Regional Health Auxiliary Scholarship – Alexandria Haer.

James Alan Rusk Memorial Scholarship – Alexandria Haer.

John A. Riegel Masonic Scholarship – Kathryn Hoerman.

John Eggert Memorial Scholarship – Eagles 2715 Red Oak – Karlee Fisher.

John J. Harris Wrestling Scholarship – Maddilyn Ballard.

John W. Brown & Madeline Hughes Brown Scholarship – Kaitlyn Richey, Danica Drake, Kathryn Hoerman, Carlie Breaud and Alaina Currin.

Kathryn “Sis” Wright Memorial Scholarship – Alaina Currin and Kaylee Jacobs.

Kenneth M. Mallas Scholarship – Amy Lamgo.

Larry and Jeanette Waters Scholarship – Hailey Thomas.

Leta Chafa Norcross - Lloyd & Leah Chafa Memorial Scholarship – Sara Avila and Connor Shipley.

Lois Dotson Rusk Memorial Scholarship – Kaylee Jacobs.

Margaret Simpson White Scholarship – Kaitlyn Richey.

Men’s Volleyball - Bob Drake Legacy Scholarship – Danica Drake.

Men’s Volleyball Scholarship – Alexandria Haer and Alaina Currin.

Mills-Montgomery County Cattlemen’s Assoc. Scholarship – Karlee Fisher.

Montgomery County Farm Bureau – Kaylee Jacobs.

Montgomery County Memorial Hospital Auxiliary – Alexandria Haer.

Montgomery County Memorial Hospital Employee Sponsored Scholarship – Alexandria Haer.

Neal Brown Memorial Scholarship – Amy Lamgo.

OB GYN Specialties P.C. Scholarship – Morgan Shuey.

Oscar Schroeder Scholarship – Danica Drake.

P.E.O. Chapter CH Scholarship – Alexandria Haer.

P.E.O. Star Scholarship – Morgan Shuey.

Page County Cattlemen’s Association Scholarship – Alexandria Haer and Morgan Shuey.

POET Biorefining Agribusiness Scholarship – Hunter Poston.

Reifel-Ellwood Education Fund – Maddilyn Ballard.

Richard D. Fast Memorial Scholarship – Hunter Poston.

Robert A. Rusk Memorial Scholarship – Hunter Poston.

Ron Bunting Award – Alexandria Haer, Hunter Poston.

Rose Ann Auxiliary Health Career Scholarship – Alexandria Haer and Hailey Thomas.

Shirley Mallas Memorial Scholarship – Danica Drake.

Southwest Iowa Rural Electric Cooperative – Connor Shipley, Daniel Kinyon, Hunter Poston and Morgan Shuey.

Southwest Valley West Campus Y-teen Scholarship – Alexandria Haer, Kathryn Hoerman, Kaylee Jacobs, Kaitlyn Richey, Morgan Shuey and Hailey Thomas.

Stanley Scholarship – Kathryn Hoerman.

SWV Barker Family Scholarship – Kaylee Jacobs and Kathryn Hoerman.

SWV High School Scholarship – Danica Drake.

SWV High School-American Red Cross Scholarship – Morgan Shuey.

The Floy and Donald Wilmarth Endowed Scholarship Fund – Kathryn Hoerman.

Villisca Community Betterment Association – Maddilyn Ballard.

Villisca Education Association Scholarship – Kaylee Jacobs.

Villisca Lions Club Scholarship – Alexandria Haer.

Wanda & Ed Richards Memorial Scholarship – Hunter Poston and Connor Shipley.

Warren Johnston Memorial Scholarship – Morgan Shuey.

Wayne & Eileen Ryan Science Award – Morgan Shuey, Maddilyn Ballard, Hailey Thomas, Alexandria Haer and Connor Shipley.

Wayne Kordick Memorial Scholarship – Connor Shipley.

Wilma Nelson Scholarship – Kaylee Jacobs.

Women’s Volleyball Scholarship – Alaina Currin, Alexandria Haer, Morgan Shuey and Hailey Thomas.

Y-Teens Iowa Town & Country Board Scholarship – Kathryn Hoerman and Hailey Thomas.

National Honor Society National semi-finalist – Morgan Shuey.

Iowa Farm Bureau Federation Scholarship – Connor Shipley.

Frank W., Sr. and Gladys Pechacek Memorial Scholarship – Alaina Currin.

Jack Hyler Memorial Scholarship – Alexandria Haer.

American Airlines Education Foundation – Morgan Shuey.

University of Northern Iowa -Distinguished Scholars Award – Alaina Currin and Amy Lamgo.

University of Northern Iowa -UNI-T.E.D. Scholarship – Alaina Currin and Amy Lamgo.

NWMSU-Distinguished Scholar – Kathryn Hoerman and Kaitlyn Richey.

NWMSU-Bearcat Advantage – Danica Drake, Kathryn Hoerman and Kaitlyn Richey.

NWMSU-Academic Excellence – Danica Drake.

Indian Hills Community College Foundation – Karlee Fisher.

IWCC- Noros M. Freeman and Elizabeth Freeman Foundation Scholarship – Danielle Whitcher.

Loading more