Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive the latest news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion, community and more!

CNA College news

Buena Vista University

STORM LAKE – Cheyenne Baumfalk of Afton, who graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree from BVU’s Creston site, recently graduated from Buena Vista University:

Students named to the dean’s list must have a minimum GPA of 3.5 for the two terms, based on a 4.0 grade point system, and must have taken at least 12 hours of coursework. The following students have been named to the dean’s list at Buena Vista University from BVU’s Creston site for terms one and two:

Abbie Donehoo of Lenox, Misty Erickson of Mount Ayr, Ahdri Evans of Creston, Mariah Harlan of Creston, Virginia Harlan of Creston, Haylee LaMasters of Creston, Sonya Mason of Creston, Brooke McGehee of Creston, Jessica Steffen of Mount Ayr and Makayla Steinbach of Lenox.

Students named to the dean’s list must have a minimum GPA of 3.5 for the semester, based on a 4.0 grade point system, and must have taken at least 12 hours of coursework. The following students have been named to the dean’s list for the fall 2018 semester at Buena Vista University: Ryan Jensen of Bridgewater, Laura Johnson of Creston and Kennedy Brokaw of Mount Ayr.

Since 1891, Buena Vista University has prepared students for lifelong success and blends liberal arts with real-world applications. Our traditional campus on the shores of Storm Lake hosts students in a variety of majors and pre-professional programs, including elementary, secondary and special education; business and accounting; and biological and chemical sciences. Our 16 degree-completion locations, online and graduate programs expand student potential with a pace and academic rigor designed for working adults and a variety of class formats that make scheduling even more convenient. With an average scholarship of more than 50 percent off of tuition, BVU is an affordable option for all students. Visit

— — — — — — 

Simpson College

INDIANOLA – Simpson College congratulates students named to the 2018 fall semester president’s and dean’s list. Students named to the president’s list earned a 4.0 GPA, and include Logan Pettit of Creston and Jenna Taylor of Creston.

Students named to the dean’s list earned a 3.7 to 3.99 GPA, and include Madison Hance of Creston and Riley Lonsdale of Greenfield.

Simpson College is located in Indianola. Founded in 1860 by members of the United Methodist Church, Simpson College has approximately 1,300 full-time undergraduate students and approximately 400 part time students. Simpson also has a campus in West Des Moines serving primarily adult learners. Simpson offers 80 majors and minors, is a member of the NCAA Division III American Rivers Conference, hosts eight Greek houses on campus and sponsors many extracurricular options for student involvement.

— — — — — — 

Iowa State University

AMES – Approximately 9,752 Iowa State University students have been recognized for outstanding academic achievement by being named to the fall semester 2018 dean’s list.

Students named to the dean’s list must have earned a GPA of at least 3.50 on a 4.00 scale while carrying a minimum of 12 credit hours of graded course work.

Students, year in school and majors from the area are Emma Leigh Ann Harper of Afton, 3, agricultural and life sciences education; Ryan J. Demott of Bedford, 1, pre-business; Kolton Jacob Jackson of Bedford, 2, agricultural systems technology; Alyssa M. Johnson of Benton, 2, kinesiology and health; Mitchell Glenn Jennett of Blockton, 3, agricultural systems technology; Trevor John Holbrook of Corning, 4, journalism and mass communication; Payton Mckenna Thomas of Corning, 2, elementary education; Cassandra E. Anderson of Creston, 4, English; Taylor Briley of Creston, 3, elementary education; Cierra Destiny Clayton of Creston, 4, elementary education; Kaleb Randall Cook of Creston, 4, construction engineering; Sydney Loy Dunphy of Creston, 4, community and regional planning; Macy Kate Evans of Creston, 3, agricultural and life sciences education; William Alexander Fargo of Creston, 4, civil engineering; Natalja Chantel Handy of Creston, 4, English; Ashley Lynne Harris of Creston, 4, history; Olivia R. Hartman of Creston, 3, music; Savannah Dawn Ide Hartman of Creston, 4, agricultural and life sciences education; Jacob Logan Hitz of Creston, 3, music; Kyle Matthew Jennett of Creston, 4, aerospace engineering; Saige Eileen Linderman of Creston, 3, public relations; Brenden Gregory McDowell of Creston, 3, criminal justice studies; Margaret Anne McGrath of Creston, 4, linguistics; Tayler Pettit of Creston, 4, finance; Emily Elizabeth Robinson of Creston, 4, industrial engineering; Rachel Marie Shepherd of Creston, 3, management; Jami Sue Sickels of Creston, 4, English; Josie Lynn Sickels of Creston, 4, family and consumer science education and studies; Kathrine Lee Sobotka of Diagonal, 2, open option (LAS); Mark E. Baudler of Fontanelle, 4, agricultural business; Rebecka L. Ogle of Gravity, 3, mechanical engineering; Dalton Clayton of Greenfield, 4, animal ecology; Kyle James Sickles of Greenfield, 4, kinesiology and health; Raegen Marie Smith of Greenfield, 4, management; Nicole Amber Mullins of Lorimor, 4, elementary education; Matilyn Mae Ann Wheeler of Lorimor, 3, animal science; Eian Charles Adams of Mount Ayr, 2, agricultural engineering; Shelbie S. Greene of Mount Ayr, 4, elementary education; Dawson Joseph Knapp of Mount Ayr, 4, industrial technology; Brooklyn Rae Sammons of Orient, 2, communication studies; Gracie Maude Russell of Prescott, 4, agricultural business; and Wyatt Thompson of Shannon City, 4, agricultural studies.

Loading more