Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive the latest news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion, community and more!
Nation & World

Loebsack honored as congressional champion of agriculture with Golden Triangle Award

National Farmers Union (NFU) recognized 26 U.S. senators and representatives who have demonstrated leadership and support at the federal policymaking level for family farmers, ranchers and their rural communities.

The Golden Triangle Award, the family farm organization’s highest legislative honor, was presented to each recipient this week during NFU’s Fall Legislative Fly-In.

“The Golden Triangle Award recognizes farm and food champions in Congress that display outstanding leadership on the issues that are important to both our industry and our organization. We’re appreciative of their insight and devotion to securing the nation’s food supply for the good of both American family farmers and consumers,” said NFU President Roger Johnson.

The Golden Triangle, first presented in 1988, symbolizes the core principles of the Farmers Union organization: education, cooperation, and legislation. This year’s Golden Triangle honorees were selected for their leadership and dedication to improving the livelihoods of family farmers and ranchers.

U.S. Representative Dave Loebsack (D-IA 2nd District) from Iowa received the award.

“It was an honor for IFU to provide our long-time friend, Congressman Dave Loebsack with the Golden Triangle Award,” said IFU President Aaron Heley Lehman. “Congressman Loebsack has been a champion of Iowa agriculture, always demonstrating support for Iowa family farmers in his policy decisions. We are thankful for his history of leadership and support on impactful agriculture issues.”

The 2019 recipients of the Golden Triangle Award are:

U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin, Wisconsin

U.S. Senator Michael Bennet, Colorado

U.S. Senator Cory Booker, New Jersey

U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown, Ohio

U.S. Senator Bob Casey, Pennsylvania

U.S. Representative Angie Craig, Minnesota

U.S. Representative Rosa DeLauro, Connecticut

U.S. Senator Richard Durbin, Illinois

U.S. Representative Tom Emmer, Indiana

U.S. Representative Jeff Fortenberry, Nebraska

U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand, New York

U.S. Senator John Hoeven, North Dakota

U.S. Representative Marcy Kaptur, Ohio

U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar, Minnesota

U.S. Representative Ann Kuster, New Hampshire

U.S. Senator Patrick Leahy, Vermont

U.S. Representative Dave Loebsack, Iowa

U.S. Representative Ben Ray Lujan, New Mexico

U.S. Representative Nancy Pelosi, California

U.S. Representative Collin Peterson, Minnesota

U.S. Representative Chellie Pingree, Maine

U.S. Representative Mark Pocan, Wisconsin

U.S. Senator Tina Smith, Minnesota

U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow, Michigan

U.S. Senator Jon Tester, Montana

U.S. Senator John Thune, South Dakota

About Iowa Farmers Union

Iowa Farmers Union is a grassroots member organization of family farmers and ranchers, advocates, and consumers committed to promoting family agriculture in Iowa. Since 1915, Iowa Farmers Union members have worked together to strengthen the independent family farm through education, legislation and cooperation and to provide Iowans with sustainable production, safe food, a clean environment and healthy communities.

Loading more