Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive the latest news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion, community and more!
Nation & World

ASA accepting applications for the Conservation Legacy Awards

Farmers who share the story of how conservation is part of their farm operation could be recognized with a Conservation Legacy Award. The awards recognize farm management practices of U.S. soybean farmers that are both environmentally friendly and profitable.

Using a reduced tillage practice on your farm, growing cover crops, and taking steps to improve energy efficiency or water quality are just a few conservation practices used on some farms today that can help produce sustainable U.S. soybeans.

Different regions of the country have their own unique challenges and ways to approach conservation and sustainability.

All U.S. soybean farmers are eligible to enter to win a Conservation Legacy Award. Entries are judged on soil management, water management, input management, conservation, environmental management and sustainability.

The selection process for these awards is divided into four regions – the midwest, upper midwest, the northeast and the south. One farmer from each of these regions will be recognized at the 2020 Commodity Classic in San Antonio, Texas, and one of these farmerswill be named the National Conservation Legacy Award recipient.

Award winners receive:

An expense paid trip for two to Commodity Classic, Feb. 27 to 29, 2020, in San Antonio, Texas.

A feature story and video featuring the award winner’s farm and conservation practices.

Potential opportunity for the national winner to join other farmer-leaders on an international trip to visit U.S. soy customers overseas.

The Conservation Legacy Awards are sponsored by the American Soybean Association (ASA), BASF, Bayer, the United Soybean

Board/soybean checkoff and Valent U.S.A.

More information on past winners of the award and how to submit an application is available in the “about” section under “awards” on the ASA website. All applications must be submitted by Sept. 13.

Loading more