Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive the latest news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion, community and more!
Adair County Free Press

NV’s Vandewater named to all-state second team

The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association announced its all-state baseball team Tuesday with the Wolverine’s Tyler Vandewater getting selected for the Class 1A second team as a catcher.

The Nodaway Valley backstop was crucial to getting the offense moving, hitting his way to a .506 average with a slugging percentage of .788.

His average and slugging were second and third, respectively, in the Pride of Iowa. Both numbers were behind Class 1A first team catcher Colby Page, who was also in the Pride of Iowa at Southeast Warren.

Vandewater finished his junior season with three homers and 11 doubles, racking up a total of 16 extra-base hits over 26 games, leading the Wolverines in each category.

Over the season, he had 13 multi-hit games and closed the season with a six-game hitting streak.

He also swiped 26 bases, getting caught stealing three times.

Mount Ayr’s Keelan Klommhaus was also selected to the third team for Class 2A as a utility.

Klommhaus hit .329 with four homers and 13 RBIs. In 32 1/3 innings pitched he struck out 53.

He posted the lowest ERA in the Pride of Iowa at 0.87, allowing four earned runs all season.

Class 1A

First team

P – Blaine Harpenau, So, Martensdale-St. Marys.

P – Keaton Parker, Sr., Alburnett.

P – Caleb Banowetz, Jr., Calamus-Wheatland

C – Colby Page, Sr., Southeast Warren.

1B – Reed Stallman, So., Alburnett.

INF – Evan Paulson, Sr., Newman Catholic.

INF – Cael Frost, So., Don Bosco.

INF – Tyler Tscherter, Jr., Gladbrook-Reinbeck.

OF – Josh Fitzgerald, Sr., Newman Catholic.

OF – Hunter Rickles, Sr., Calamus-Wheatland

OF – Dylan Fry, Sr., Belle Plaine.

UTL – Coin Kramer, Sr., St. Ansgar.

UTL – Drew Schurke, Sr., AR-WE-VA.

Second team

P – Christian Cook, Sr., Coon Rapids-Bayard.

P – Brody Wolf, Jr., HLV.

P – Nathan Keck, Sr., Kingsley, Pierson.

C – Tyler Vandewater, Jr., Nodaway Valley.

1B – Aaron Fleming, Sr., GMG.

INF – Bryce Coppock, Jr., Newell Fonda.

INF – Layne Pryor, So., Woodbine.

INF – Cy Patterson, So., St. Albert.

OF – Dean Schaull, Sr., HLV.

OF – Luke Oleson, Jr., Kingsley-Pierson.

OF – Kendall Becker, Sr., Don Bosco.

UTL – Bryce Schares, Sr., Don Bosco.

UTL – Skylar Waldschmitt, Jr., Remsen St. Mary.

Third team

P – Carter Nelson, Jr., Baxter.

P – Isaac Gavin, Jr., Martensdale-St. Marys.

P – Doug Taylor, 8th, Newman Catholic.

C – Kody Timm, Jr., HLV.

1B – Trey Baker, So., Martensdale-St. Marys.

INF – Hunter Caves, Sr., Alburnett.

INF – Landon Gilliland, So., Lamoni.

INF – Tanner Bainbridge, Sr., Pekin.

OF – Damon Schmidt, Fr., Kinglsey-Pierson.

OF – Austin Huber, Jr., Alburnett.

OF – Carson Butz, Jr., Moravia.

UTL – Kade Schlepp, Jr., Coon Rapids-Bayard.

UTL – Noah Tieskoetter, Jr., South Winneshiek.

Class 2A

First team

P – Jake Hilmer, Sr., North Linn.

P – Briar Rowley, Sr., Estherville-Lincoln Central.

P – Hunter Dekkers, Jr., West Sioux.

C – Connor Lange, Sr., Missouri Valley.

1B – Brock Farley, Sr., Denver.

INF – Christian Davidson, So., Pocahontas Area/

INF – Jalyn Granstad, Jr., West Lyon.

INF – Aiden Brock, Jr., Hinton.

OF – Owen Grover, Sr., Beckman Catholic.

OF – David Seber, Sr., North Linn.

OF – Tyler Hopp, Sr., Central Lee.

UTL – Jace Davidson, Sr., Pocahontas Area.

UTL – Colin McCrabb, Sr., Wilton.

Second team

P – Brett Shelton, Sr., Des Moines Christian.

P – Jared Townsend, Sr., Wilton.

P – A.J. Schreck, Sr., Kuemper Catholic.

C – Jaxon Schumacher, 8th, Treynor.

1B – Brett Berg, Jr., Van Meter.

INF – Nick Ravlin, Jr., Underwood.

INF – Matt Paulsen, Jr., West Branch.

INF – Will Dembski, Sr., Pella Christian.

OF – Kayden Krusen, Sr., Ogden.

OF – Ryan Anderson, Jr., Pocahontas Area.

OF – Jon Mootz, Sr., Monticello.

UTL – Anthony Pothoff, Jr., Van Meter.

UTL – Gavin Lorenzen, Jr., West Lyon.

Third team

P – Bran Tornow, Sr., Mid-Prairie.

P – Zak Scott, Sr., MVOACOU.

P – Aaron Michael, Sr., MVOACOU.

C – Michael Ryherd, Jr., Alta-Aurelia.

1B – Nate McCombs, Jr., Treynor.

INF – Josh Van Beek, Jr., West Lyon.

INF – Grant Christy, Sr., Des Moines Christian.

INF – Chase Becker, So., Iowa City Regina.

OF – Drake Adair, Sr., Underwood.

OF – Jacob Blomgren, So., Van Meter.

OF – Hunter Pesek, Jr., New Hampton.

UTL – Austin Hilmer, Fr., North Linn.

UTL – Keelan Klommhaus, Jr., Mount Ayr.

Loading more