Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive the latest news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion, community and more!
Fontanelle Observer

NV lands three on all-POI second team

The Pride of Iowa Conference released its all-conference teams over the weekend.

Nodaway Valley had no problem cracking second team as three Wolverines made the all-Pride of Iowa second team.

Caelen DeVault was selected as a pitcher, Tyler Vandewater as catcher and Brady Hilpipre as an outfielder.

DeVault’s season on the hill saw him log 42 1/3 innings while posting an ERA of 2.81 in 13 appearances. He struck out 47 and kept opponents at bay, limiting averages against him to .178.

Handling the pitching staff, Vandewater was the Wolverines’ primary catcher. The backstop hit an impressive .506 (second best in the conference) with an on-base percentage of .570 (fourth best in the conference).

Vandewater smacked three homers, 11 doubles, 30 RBIs, and stole 26 bases. All were a team best.

Hilpipre finished the season with a clip of .284, driving in 19 runs while hitting two homers. A center fielder that occasionally toed the rubber, Hilpipre posted an ERA of 3.20 in 19 2/3 innings.

Opponents finished the season with a batting average of .152 against the outgoing senior, the lowest on the Wolverines.

Nodaway Valley’s Cole Shike also received an honorable mention from the Pride of Iowa.

The everyday shortstop finished the season with an average of .333. He swiped 18 bags and scored 24 runs. He posted a fielding percentage of .934.

All-Pride of Iowa Conference teams

First team

P – *Isaac Gavin, Jr., Martensdale-St. Marys.

P – Brennan Sefrit, Jr., Bedford.

P – Isaac Grose, Jr., Mount Ayr.

P – Brock Kyner, Sr., Southeast Warren.

C – Colby Page, Southeast Warren, Sr.

INF – Cael Cassady, So., Martensdale-St. Marys.

INF – Haden Leymaster, So., Central Decatur.

INF – Kaleb Bauer, Sr., Southeast Warren.

INF – Bryce Hall, Jr.,Southeast Warren.

OF – *Carson Elbert, So., Martensdale-St. Marys.

OF – Connor Eaton, Sr., Mount Ayr.

OF – Tyler Pearson, Jr., Southwest Valley.

UTL – Cole Cassady, Jr., Martensdale-St. Marys.

UTL – Michel Evertsen, Jr., Central Decatur.

Second team

P – Esa Johansen, Sr., Martensdale-St. Marys.

P – Dustin Lund, Sr., Southwest Valley.

P – Tanner Dierking, So., Southeast Warren.

P – Caelen DeVault, Fr., Nodaway Valley.

P – Keelen Klommhaus, Jr., Mount Ayr.

C – Tyler Vandewater, Jr., Nodaway Valley.

INF – Kasey Carter, Fr., Martensdale-St. Marys.

INF – Aiden Gaule, Sr., Southwest Valley.

INF – Cullen Wood, So., Lenox.

INF – Josh Hardy, Sr., East Union.

OF – Brady Hilipire, Sr., Nodaway Valley.

OF – Cade Nelson, Fr., Southeast Warren.

OF – Mason Merfeld, So., Southeast Warren.

UTL – Brooks Jacobsen, Sr., Wayne.

UTL – Jack Franey, So., Martensdale-St. Marys.

UTL – Bret Whitehall, Jr., Wayne.

Honorable mention

Lane Dittmer, Southeast Warren.

Teagan Lundquist, Southwest Valley.

Trey Baker, Martensdale St. Marys.

Spencer Buban, Wayne.

Briar Knapp, Mount Ayr.

Cole Shike, Nodaway Valley.

Colton Gordon, Lenox.

Dylan Swaney, Bedford.

Ethan Mitchell, East Union.

David Walker, Central Decatur.

* = unanimous

Loading more