Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive the latest news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion, community and more!
Letters to the Editor

Celebrate Giving Tuesday by helping the library

From Peg Anderson


This year Giving Tuesday is on Nov. 27.

Giving Tuesday harnesses the generosity of people to bring about real change in their communities; it provides a platform for them to encourage the donation of time, resources and talents to address local challenges. It also brings together the collective power of a unique blend of partners – nonprofits, civic organizations, businesses and corporations, as well as families and individuals – to encourage and amplify small acts of kindness. As a global movement, Giving Tuesday unites countries around the world by sharing our capacity to care for and empower one another.

Giving Tuesday kicks off the charitable season, when many focus on their holiday and end-of-year giving. On this day, the Gibson Memorial Library is promoting its capital campaign endeavor. As the only public library in Union County, we have outgrown our current area. We need more space for children’s programming, adult programming, community meetings and materials.

In 1931, the Gibson Memorial Library became a realization and has served us well for almost 90 years. It is a sturdy, well-maintained building located in a convenient center of town. The time has come to update and expand our public library.

We are asking you to support this worthwhile project with an online donation at using your credit card or PayPal, or by sending your donation directly to the library. This year, the DEKKO Foundation will match donations and pledges. Every dollar you donate or pledge to the Gibson Memorial Library will be doubled!

You can make a difference for our community by donating to Gibson Memorial Library. For more information and other ways to help, please contact Library Director David Hargrove or any of these campaign committee members: Peg Anderson, Ann Coulter, Tessa Hull, Jean Ide, Connie Maxson, Kay Raymond and Susan Weight.

Loading more