Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive the latest news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion, community and more!

Athlete of the Year winners to be announced Aug. 15

The 2018 South Central Iowa Male and Female Athlete of the Year candidates will be featured in each edition of this week’s Creston News Advertiser.

One male and one female finalist will appear each day through Friday, starting today.

The winners will be announced in the Wednesday, Aug. 15, edition of the News Advertiser.

The honorees will join male winners Chase Shiltz of Creston (2017), Jackson Lamb of Nodaway Valley (2016), Jay Wolfe of Creston (2015), Jacob Sobotka of Mount Ayr (2014) and Austin Halls of Murray (2013) and female winners Paige McElfish of Nodaway Valley (2017), Taylor Briley of Creston (2016), Natalie Mostek of Creston (2015), Libby Bemis of Clarke (2014) and Sarah Pate of Clarke (2013).

The candidates will be posted in each sports section in no particular order, leading up to the reveal of the winner. Only seniors from this past athletic year are eligible for the award.

Once all of the finalists have been posted, an online poll will go live on a third-party site, which will be shared on Facebook and on when Thursday turns to Friday at midnight, allowing fans the opportunity to vote for who they think deserves the honor of being South Central Iowa Athlete of the Year.

Winners of the awards are selected by the Creston News Advertiser and Osceola Sentinel-Tribune sports staff, while winners of the fan poll will also be recognized in the Aug. 15 edition of the CNA.

Candidates will also be featured in the Osceola Sentinel-Tribune.

Athletes from Creston, Central Decatur, Clarke, Diagonal, East Union, Interstate 35, Lenox, Mount Ayr, Murray, Nodaway Valley, Orient-Macksburg and Southwest Valley are all eligible for the award.

Loading more