Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive the latest news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion, community and more!

Fan Appreciation Night features exciting racing

CORNING – A total of 96 cars hit the dirt on Saturday night at the Adams County Speedway in front of a jam-packed grandstands on Busch Light Fan Appreciation Night. Admission to the grandstand was entirely free to the whole crowd and the six classes in attendance did not disappoint with door-to-door, heart pounding action.

The future racers of ACS also took to the dirt for the second of three races in the CHI Health E-Powered Series. The Adams County Fair Queen coronation also took place during intermission, as Southwest Valley junior Anna Inman was crowned the 2018 Adams County Fair Queen

Feature action began on Saturday night with the Chat Mobility Hobby Stocks. Twenty cars took to the track, many drivers were jockeying for position as early as lap one, which led to some misfortune for drivers with fast hot-rods such as Andy Davison and Ryan Sutter. Josh Modde led the early half of the race. Modde, in pursuit of his first career win, surrendered the race lead to Jerid Lund, who held off a late charge from Modde and Luke Ramsey to pick off his first win of the season. Modde held off Ramsey for second, Chris Bates finished fourth and Tom Myers rounded out the top five.

Stalker Chevrolet B-Modifieds were the next to hit the dirt. Cody Werner started on the pole fresh off a dominating heat race win. Points leader Josh Sink started in the second row and quickly found himself in a battle with Werner for the race lead. Sink managed to overpower Werner for the race lead but had to hold off a hard charge from Denison native Jake Sachau. Sachau showed his nose a handful of times, but Sink managed to hold on for his fifth win of the season. Cody Werner settled for third, Kyle Tanner took home fourth and Jerod Weston rounded out the top five.

The Northland Oil Stock Cars were competing for $800 to win on Saturday night. Derrick Dredge and Jonathan Kinser started on the front row, but it was Tony Hardisty who quickly assumed the race lead. Hardisty appeared to be on his way to win number five on the season, but a transmission problem slowed him down momentarily, allowing Jason Rold to take the lead. Hardisty was able to regain power and battle with Rold for the lead, but he could not get around Rold. Buck Schafroth rallied from his last place starting position and became a contender for the win at the end of the race, but neither driver could get by Rold allowing the Avoca native to grab his second win of the season. Hardisty edged Schafroth for second, Russell Stewart finished fourth and Dusty Van Horn rounded out the top five.

The Poet Bio-Refining Modified drivers raced for $1,000 to win on Saturday night. Fifteen drivers did battle to chase the extra cash. Ryan Jenkins and Jesse Dennis won their respective heat races in dominant fashion and started on the front row of the feature. Dennis and Jenkins battled for the first couple of laps with a sense of urgency, but eventually Dennis was able to stretch his lead over Jenkins to pick up his fourth win of the season and take sole possession of the points lead. Jenkins held on for second, Todd Van Eaton and Jeff James rounded out the top five.

Kris Foote and Jonathan Kinser started on the front row of the Tri-State Ford Compact Feature. Defending track-champion Dustin Thompson took the race lead from Foote. Shortly after Thompson took the lead, points leader Chris Vannausdle found himself in a wild accident that ended his night early. Fortunately Vannausdle walked away unscathed. After the caution, Tyler Housley overpowered Thompson for the race lead. Housley then began to pull away from Thompson and held on for his first career win. Thompson held on for second, Colton Garside took home a career-best third place finish, Bobby Key finished fourth and Kris Foote rounded out the top five.

Action concluded on Saturday night with the O’Reilly Auto Parts Late Models. Fifteen late models hit the half-mile to do battle with weekly points as well as Gail’s Gold Rush Super Late Model Series points on the line. Brad Perdue and Andrew Kosiski started on the front row. Kosiski led the opening stage of the race. Points leader Bill Leighton found speed on the top side of the track and soon found his way around his brother-in-law. Leighton began to pull away from the field, but a caution came out with 10 laps to go. Leighton held off a charge from Jason O’Brien on the restart and cruised for his second win of the season. O’Brien held off Andrew Kosiski for second, Ben Schaller finished fourth and Brad Perdue.

Join us Saturday night for Chat Mobility Night. The Chat Mobility Hobby Stocks will compete in the inaugural McCunn Specialty Firearms Three Wide Shootout. Luke Ramsey, Andy Davison, Chris Bates, Jerid Lund, David Weeda and Tom Myers will compete with a little extra incentive on the line. Grandstand tickets that were purchased on the June 30 rainout night will also be good for Saturday.

Loading more