Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive the latest news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion, community and more!

Club news


The weekly Kiwanis meeting was held 12:05 p.m. Tuesday, May 9, at the Windrow meeting room with 26 members and six guests. President Chris Eaton presided, Ken Norton gave the prayer and Drew Henderson was the finemaster.

The program was the presentation of Kiwanis Scholarship winners for 2017. Lexie Little, Issac Wignall, Trey Cheers, Stormie Buchanan and Paul Lorenz III all received $500 scholarships. Buchanan is from Diagonal High School and the rest from Creston Community High School. All will be attending Southwestern Community College in the fall. Wignall got the Mickey Finn Scholarship. All students attended the meeting, introduced themselves and told of their future career plans. Congrats to the class of 2017.

— — — — — —

GFWC/Iowa Bancroft History Assembly

On May 1, GFWC/Iowa Bancroft History Assembly met at the home of Kay Ritter for the final meeting of the year. Brunch was served by the hostess at 9:30 a.m. Six active members, four life members and one honorary member were in attendance.

After the meal, President Joan Nurnberg called the meeting to order.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. The thought for the day was, “By the time you are rich enough to sleep late, you are so old you wake up early.” Roll call answered the question, “Do you have plans for the summer?”

No minutes of the previous meeting were available. The treasurer’s report was given and accepted. Monetary donations to Creston Area Food Pantry and the loose change collection were made. Cards are to be sent to Kay Raymond and Mary Jones. Beth Perry was thanked for calling members this year.

Bancroft received an invitation to the Literary Club’s program May 5 at Crestmoor Golf Club. Author D. Nichole King is to be the guest speaker.

New officers for 2017-18 were installed by Nurnberg. Joan Chubick will be the treasurer, Raymond secretary/journalist, Perry corresponding secretary, Peg Anderson parliamentarian, Sandy Oswald vice president and historian, and Marisue Lewis president.

Nurnberg was thanked for her leadership this past year.

Topics of study for the new year will be “ethnic groups who settled in Iowa.” Lists for programs and hostesses were available. Roger Nurnberg will be making the printed programs once again.

Anderson, Oswald and Lewis attended the Iowa State GFWC Convention April 21-22 in Pella. They gave brief reports. Bancroft was recognized for having 100 percent participation in the Adventures in Reading program.

A special thank you was given to Ritter for her breakfast and good hospitality. The Club Collect was given and it was moved the meeting be adjourned.

An interesting program on the history of agriculture in Iowa was prepared by Leone Purdum, but was presented by Martha Musmaker in Purdum’s absence.

The club will recess for the summer and will meet again Sept. 18.

— — — — — —

Ladies Lakeshore Auxiliary

Ladies Lakeshore Auxiliary met May 10.

Canasta winners were Mary Kline, first; Maxine May, second; and Penni Nauman, third.

Joan Chubick won the door prize.

Connie Bailey will host cards and chatter Wednesday, May 17.

Loading more