Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive the latest news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion, community and more!
Letters to the Editor

Seeking nominations for 4-H Hall of Fame

From Barb Wilmeth

President, Union County Friends of 4-H Inc.

Union County has a rich 4-H history which began in 1927, when Helen Chicken founded the county’s first 4-H club – the Sand Creek Workers – a girl’s club in Sand Creek Township.  

For nearly 90 years, thanks to the commitment of many volunteers, parents, staff and 4-H professionals, the program has been a positive influence in the lives of thousands of youth in Union County, and it is thriving today.  

To recognize the contributions of those who have given their time, expertise and support to the program in Union County throughout the years, Friends of 4-H is seeking nominations for the 2017 Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame, representing Union County. Nomination forms are available on the Union County Extension website at; at the Extension Office, 811 N. Sumner Ave., in Creston; by calling the office at 641-782-8426 or by contacting any member of the Union County Friends of 4-H. Nominations are due May 1 to the extension office.  

Individuals or couples should be nominated based on their citizenship, leadership, character and contributions as a mentor or role model. The Hall of Fame recognizes 4-H pioneers, long time 4-H volunteers, 4-H professionals and support staff and others whose contributions have made a difference to the 4-H program. Nominees may be living or deceased. Members of Friends of 4-H will select the inductee(s) from nominations submitted. Those selected will be recognized at the Union County Fair, and their names will be added to a plaque hanging at the extension office. In addition, the honorees will be recognized at a special ceremony at the Iowa State Fair celebrating their induction into the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame.  

Previous recipients are: 

• 2016 Bob Crittenden 

• 2015 Mary O’Riley  

• 2014 Verna and Paul Bailey

• 2013 Dennis and Pauline Sweet 

• 2012 Darwin West  

• 2011 Carol Glynn

• 2010 Dr. Al and Pat Pokorny  

• 2009 Ruby Stephens

• 2008 Sharon Bennett 

• 2007 Charles (Chuck) Ehm

• 2006 Sandra Cheers

• 2005 Mary Clayton

• 2004 Carl Eklund

• 2003 No recipient

• 2002 Judge Maxwell

Union County Friends of 4-H look forward to receiving many nominations by the May 1 deadline.

Loading more