63°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Patton unanimous first team all-conference

Published: Friday, Feb. 28, 2014 1:37 a.m. CDT

Murray placed two players on the Bluegrass Conference’s all-conference first team, highlighted by a unanimous selection in Kate Patton.

Senior Megan Oswald was also named to the first team for Murray, which finished the season with a 20-3 record.

Patton finished fourth in the conference in scoring at 18.7 points per game, second in assists with 99 and second in steals with 139.

Oswald ranked 11th in the conference in scoring at 11.2 points per game. She also finished second in rebounding with 201 total rebounds for an 8.7 average per game.

Murray sophomore Madison Gonseth was a unanimous selection to the second team after averaging 9.8 points per game and 8.0 rebounds per game. She also recorded 24 blocked shots for the season, ranking fourth in the conference.

Orient-Macksburg junior Shannon Eads earned second team honors after averaging 13.1 points and 8.3 rebounds per game.

Murray junior Deena Snyder earned honorable mention, as did Orient-Macksburg junior Lisa Moss and Diagonal freshman Cassidy Becker.

Snyder averaged 4.9 points and 4.1 rebounds per game for the Lady Mustangs. Moss scored 11.4 points per game and collected 72 steals for Orient-Macksburg. Becker led Diagonal with 7.2 points per game and 9.1 rebounds per game.

Bluegrass all-conference


(* — unanimous)

First team — Madison Laib*, Sr., Ankeny Christian Academy; Katie Hall*, So., Grandview Park Baptist; Kate Patton*, Sr. , Murray; Brittany Roby*, Sr., Twin Cedars; Autumn McDanel, So., Moravia; Megan Oswald, Sr., Murray; Tiffany Brunner, Sr., Lamoni; Gabby Snyder, Sr., Ankeny Christian Academy; Raquel Dickerson, Fr., Iowa Christian Academy; Shayla McCool, So., Grandview Park Baptist.

Second team — Madison Gonseth*, So., Murray; Shannon Eads, Jr., Orient-Macksburg; Alli Howard, Jr., Ankeny Christian Academy; Kayla Whittington, Jr., Grandview Park Baptist; Gabby DeFino*, So., Iowa Christian Academy; Kyra Stevenson, Jr., Lamoni; McKenzie Suntken, Sr., Melcher-Dallas; Hannah Eastlick, Jr., Moravia; Payton Rogers, Fr., Moravia; Shayla Russell, Sr., Seymour.

Honorable mention — Bethany Breeding, Sr., Grandview Park Baptist; Deena Snyder, Jr., Murray; Lizzie Deo, Jr., Ankeny Christian Academy; Ally DeFino, So., Iowa Christian Academy; Becca Albertson, Jr., Moravia; Madison DeWitt, Fr., Twin Cedars; Paige Mitchell, Sr., Seymour; Katelyn Dent, Fr., Mormon Trail; Ashlyn Martin, Sr., Moulton-Udell; Lisa Moss, Jr., Orient-Macksburg; Cassidy Becker, Fr., Diagonal; Blake Shields, Sr., Lamoni; Jessi Anderson, So., Melcher-Dallas.

Sportsmanship Award — Ankeny Christian Academy.

More News

Reader Poll

What is your favorite part about the Iowa State Fair?
Trying new foods
People watching
Checking out exhibits